BTEC Level 3 National Foundation Extended Diploma in IT - Cybercrime & Security

Apply From: 13th of June 2018
Application Deadline:
Start Date:

Entry Requirements

5 GCSEs grades A*-C (grade 9 - 4) including English and maths or a relevant Level 2 qualification with distinction (merit may be considered) and English and maths at Level 2.

Who is the course for

Students with talent and passion for cyber security and information technology, skills which are increasingly valued by government, law enforcement agencies and businesses.

The qualification is designed to be studied over two years and is equivalent to three A Levels. It fully meets entry requirements for progression to an HNC, HND or a degree course in IT and related areas such as: Cyber Security and Computer Forensics with Business, Security and Digital Forensics, Computer Networks Security or Business Computing and Entrepreneurship.

Course Content

The course consists of 13 units of which 7 are mandatory. As part of the qualification we encourage students to enrol on the Cisco Introduction to Cybersecurity course to help enhance employability.

Year 1:

  • Information technology systems
  • Creating systems to manage information
  • Using social media in business
  • Programming
  • Data modelling
  • Website development.

Year 2:

  • Cyber security and incident management
  • IT service delivery
  • IT Pproject management
  • Big data and business analytics
  • The internet of things
  • Website development
  • Customising and integrating applications.

Study Methods

This course is classroom taught and you will have opportunities to develop your creative skills through instructor led workshops.

How is the course assessed

Externally assessed units: An exam – all students take the same assessment at the same time, normally with a written outcome. (Unit 1) Controlled assessments (Set tasks) – students take the assessment during a defined window and demonstrate understanding through completion of a set task.

Internally assessed units: Learners will be assessed using written assignments that provide the final assessment of each unit.

Where next - Further Studies

The qualification fully meets the requirements for progression to a wide range of programmes in IT and related areas. These include:

  • HNC or HND in Computing,
  • BSc in Cyber Security
  • BSc in Digital Technology Solutions
  • BSc in Computing Forensics
  • BSc in Computer Networks and Security.

Where next - Job Opportunities

The qualification gives learners a broad base of knowledge of the IT sector. Successful candidates can expect to find employment opportunities as: Security Administrator (infrastructure, data, and applications), Network Security Architect, Network Security Engineer, Network Security Specialist.