Skip to main content

Pearson BTEC Level 4 HNC in Computing (RQF)

Course Code : HC4PUF 

Full-Time Programme  

Location: Hayes Campus  

Duration: 32 weeks 

Start Date: 04/10/2021 

When: Monday-Friday 09:00 to 17:00  

Entry Requirements 

GCSE English and maths at A* to C (or equivalent) and a UCAS Tariff score of 48-64 from a full Level 3 qualification such as BTEC, A Level or an Access to Higher Education Certificate awarded by an approved further education institution in maths, physics, engineering, science, computer science, electronic systems or similar.  

All students who are non-native English speakers and who have not undertaken their final two years of schooling in English, must demonstrate capability in English at a standard equivalent to IELTS 5.5; Reading and Writing must be at 5.5 or equivalent. We accept a wide range of European and international qualifications. Mature students with appropriate related industry experience are encouraged to apply 

Who is the course for? 

The Pearson BTEC Higher National Certificate in Computing is aimed at students wanting to continue their education through applied learning. Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals provide a wide-ranging study of the computing sector and is designed for students who wish to pursue or advance their career in computing. In addition to the knowledge, understanding and practical skills that underpin the study of the computing sector, Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals Certificate in Computing gives students the experience of the breadth and depth of the sector, which will prepare them for further study or training. 

Course Content  

Students will develop a broad knowledge and awareness of key aspects of the computing sector at Level 4 through six core units (mandatory) which include one unit assessed by a Pearson-set assignment and two further optional units at Level 4. The units are: 

Core Units: 

  • Programming 
  • Networking 
  • Professional Practice 
  • Database Design & Development 
  • Security 
  • Managing a Successful Computing Project (Pearson-set) 

Optional units: 

  • Computer Systems Architecture 
  • Website Design & Development 

Cisco “CCNA Routing and Switching” materials are embedded in the BTEC L4 HND in computing programme. Actual Specialist units may be subject to change if sufficient number of students decide to follow one of the six specialist pathways offered by Pearson. The course will also develop a broad range of transferable skills, which include communicating, team work, planning & organising, problem solving, IT skills and numerical techniques. 

Study Methods 

  • 75% classroom-based learning supervised by a tutor 
  • 20% work-based learning supervised by a tutor 
  • 5% e-Learning supervised by a tutor in real time, guest speakers and field trips (Optional). 

Students will attend college for 15 hours – over three days. Students are expected to complete approximately 22.5 hours per week of independent study (i.e. on research in LRC and completing assignments). 

How is the course assessed 

Assessment is through a series of assignments including 95% written assignments, 3% group work, 1% presentations and 1% time-constrained assessments. the grades in each subject unit are shown as: 

  • pass 
  • merit 
  • distinction 

Where next - Further Studies 

The Pearson BTEC Higher National Certificate provides a solid grounding in computing at Level 4, vendor-accredited certification and Professional Body membership, all of which students can build on and allow students to continue their studies to Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing. The Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing allows students to specialise by committing to specific career paths and progression routes to degree-level study. On successful completion of the Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma at Level 5, students can develop their careers in the computing sector through: 

  • Entering employment 
  • Continuing existing employment 
  • Linking with the appropriate vendor accredited certificates 
  • Committing to Continuing Professional Development (CPD) 
  • Progressing to university. 

The BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing is recognised by higher education providers as meeting admission requirements to many relevant computing-related courses. Details of entry requirements for BTEC Higher National graduates into degree programmes at institutions in the UK and internationally can be found on the Degree Course Finder website ( and 

Students who completed Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing from our School progressed onto the final year of a degree course at the following universities: 

  • Hertfordshire University 
  • Plymouth University 
  • Middlesex University 
  • Greenwich University 
  • Westminster University 
  • Staffordshire University 
  • London Metropolitan University 
  • London South Bank University 
  • Anglia Ruskin University 
  • West London University 
  • East London University 
  • Huddersfield University 
  • Bath University 
  • Northumbria University 

Where next - Job Opportunities 

The skills offered as part of the Pearson BTEC Higher National Certificate can provide graduates with the opportunity to work in many different areas of the computing sector. Previous students have successfully gained employment in the following roles:, IT help desk, Computer Service and Repair Technician, Web Developer, etc. 

More Information 

Please click here for the Course Handbook – containing full course details plus information on: 

  • Assessment and grading 
  • College rules and resources 
  • Student support and representation. 

Please click here to view the Terms and Conditions for our HE students. 

UCAS Code: I320 

For students to be eligible for funding from Student Finance England, they must be studying on an eligible course at a provider registered with the Office for Students (OfS).The OfS is the new independent regulator for higher education in England and all higher education providers need to register with the OfS for their students to be eligible for student support in the 2021-22 academic year. The OfS has published providers on its Register and HCUC (Harrow College and Uxbridge College) has been registered since 10 December 2018. Please visit for more information. 


  • Home student: £6,000 
  • Overseas student: £7,682 

The fees quoted are for home and overseas students for one year of study and include tuition, exam fee, materials, ID card (which gives access to the college and facilities e.g. library) and college registration. 

Whether you pay a 'home' or 'overseas' fee depends on whether you meet certain criteria. Uxbridge College does not create the criteria for fee status. The fee status criteria is provided in regulations and guidance, published by the government. 

Please click here for information on the conditions you need to meet to be entitled to pay tuition fees at the 'home' rate for study on a Higher Education (HE) course at West London IoT, based at Uxbridge College. This information is only a summary. 

If you are unsure about your status you should contact the Careers Team at Uxbridge College or please click here to complete the Fees Assessment Questionnaire and return it to the address given on the form. The UK Council for International Student Affairs (UKCISA) also has information about residency for international students. 

Pearson BTEC Level 4 HNC in Computing (RQF)

Uxbridge, UK
Level 4

Published on 29 Apr 2021

Share this job now