Pearson BTEC Level 5 HND Plus in Computing (RQF)

Apply From: 18th of June 2018
Application Deadline: 30th of March 2020
Start Date:

Not taking applications

Entry Requirements

GCSE English and maths at A* to C (or equivalent) and a UCAS Tariff score of 48-64 from a full Level 3 qualification such as BTEC, A Level or an Access to Higher Education Certificate awarded by an approved further education institution in maths, physics, engineering, science, computer science, electronic systems or similar.

All students who are non-native English speakers and who have not undertaken their final two years of schooling in English, must demonstrate capability in English at a standard equivalent to IELTS 5.5; Reading and Writing must be at 5.5 or equivalent.

Mature students with appropriate related industry experience are encouraged to apply.

Who is the course for

Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals provide a wide-ranging study of the computing sector and are designed for students who wish to pursue or advance their career in computing.

In addition to the knowledge, understanding and skills that underpin the study of the computing sector, Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals in computing give students experience of the breadth and depth of the sector that will prepare them for further study or training.

Course Content

First Year In the first year students develop a broad knowledge and awareness of key aspects of the computing sector at Level 4 through six core units (mandatory), which include one unit assessed by a Pearson-set assignment. The units are:

  • Programming
  • Networking
  • Professional Practice
  • Database Design & Development
  • Security
  • Managing a Successful Computing Project (Pearson-set)

Specialist units

  • Computer Systems Architecture
  • Website Design & Development

Second Year In the second year students develop a broad knowledge and awareness of key aspects of the computing sector at Level 5 through 2 core units (mandatory), which include one unit assessed by a Pearson-set assignment. The units are:

  • Computing Research Project (Pearson-set)
  • Business Intelligence

Specialist units

  • Cloud Computing
  • Network Security
  • Advanced Programming
  • E Commerce & Strategy
  • Artificial Intelligence

Cisco “CCNA Routing and Switching” and Cisco “Introduction to Cybersecurity” are integrated in the BTEC L5 HND in Computing programme.

Actual Specialist units may be subject to change if sufficient number of students decide to follow one of the six specialist pathways offered by Pearson.

The course will also develop a broad range of transferable skills, which include communicating, team work, planning & organising, problem solving, IT skills and numerical techniques.

The course also includes four vendor qualifications delivered over two years: Year one

  • CompTIA A+
  • Network+

Year two

  • Security+
  • Cloud+.

CompTIA certificates will be administrated separately through Pearson VUE testing centres, which we offer in Uxbridge College and delivered during the student breaks, i.e. December, February, April & May.

Passing or failing the 4 vendor qualifications tests will have no impact on the BTEC HND+ Computing progression.

Study Methods

  • 75% classroom-based learning supervised by a tutor
  • 20% work-based learning supervised by a tutor
  • 5% e-Learning supervised by a tutor in real time, guest speakers and field trips (Optional).

Students will attend college for 15 hours/Y1 or 14 hours/Y2 – over three days. Students are expected to complete approximately 18 hours per week of independent study (i.e. on research in LRC and completing assignments).

How is the course assessed

Assessment is through a series of assignments including 95% written assignments, 3% group work, 1% presentations and 1% Time-constrained assessments.

Where next - Further Studies

Details of entry requirements for BTEC Higher National graduates into degree programmes at institutions in the UK and internationally can be found here

BSc degree programmes and MSc programmes after suitable post-diploma experience.

Students have progressed onto the final year of a degree course at the following universities:

  • Hertfordshire University
  • Plymouth University
  • Middlesex University
  • Greenwich University
  • Westminster University
  • Staffordshire University
  • Middlesex University
  • London Metropolitan University
  • London South Bank University
  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • West London University
  • East London University
  • Huddersfield University
  • Bath University
  • Northumbria University